about uttarakhand
About Uttarakhand
State UTTARAKHAND, earlier known as Uttaranchal is a state of the part of northern India which is known as land of the Gods, “Devbhoomi”.  The state is called so due to many pilgrimage centres and temples all over in the state.  Uttarakhand is very well known for its Himalaya’s natural beauty also.  This state of India was created on 9th November 2000 which is the 27th state of our country, India.  The state was created from the adjoining district of Uttar Pradesh.  The state has the borders of Tibet country from its north and Nepal from the east.  Uttar Pradesh is at its south and on the west it has Himachal Pradesh.  The state has two divisions which are Garhwal and Kumaon division and has a total of 13 districts which are Almora, Bageshwar, Chamoli, Champawat, Dehradun, Haridwar, Nainital, Pauri, Pithoragarh, Rudraprayag, Tehri, Udham Singh Nagar and Uttarkashi.   The total population of the state is 10,116,752 according to the census of 2011. With this number of population, the state falls at the 19th most populous state of India.
The natives of state generally called Uttarakhandis and if we specify more, then either Garhwali or Kumaoni people, so as the languages spoken.  Uttarakhand is the only state with its official language as “Sanskrit”.