Uttarakhand is one of the northern states that was previously part of Uttar Pradesh, a very large state of India. Uttarakhand is also known as ‘Dev Bhoomi Uttarakhand’ (the Land of the God) from very ancient times.  It had become the 27th state of  India.
UTTARAKHAND (earlier known as Uttaranchal) is recognized as a separate state of India in the year 2000. Earlier, it was a hill district of Uttar Pradesh, India.  Today, our Uttarakhand is called as the “Land of Gods” (Dev Bhoomi) because the state has the presence of various pilgrimage locations. The earlier rulers of the state were the Kushanas, Kunindas, Guptas, Pauravas, Chands and Panwars other than the Britishers.
In the earlier times, the area was in the haunt for the Sadhus and Rishis.  It is believed that in the ancient period, the Pandavas have travelled and camped here and Rishi Vyas narrated the ‘Mahabharata’ here. In the 2nd Century BC, the “Kunindas” were the major dynasties of Garhwal and Kumaon.  They did business of salt with the western Tibet.  Later, the region was combined under two kingdoms, namely in the west it was “Garhwal Kingdom” and in the east, it was “Kumaon Kingdom.  The Kumaon region grew under the Chand Rajas (origins from the plains of India) from 13th to 18th Century.  The Garhwal region was integrated under the rule of Panwar Rajas (arrived from plains).  The expanding of Gurkha Empire, Nepal captured Almora in the year 1971.  Not only this, Garhwal kingdom was also fall to the Gorkhas. In 1816, with the result of the Anglo Nepalese War, a portion of garhwal was reinstate from Tehri.
After the independence, Tehri was merged into UP state where Uttarakhand poised the Garhwal and Kumaon divisions. Later, Uttarakhand Kranti Dal (est.1979) began disturbing for a different state.  Although the earlier kingdoms of garhwal and kumaon were rivals with different culture, language and ethics, a strong bond between the two regions created which formed the base of the new political structure of Uttarakhand which received a noteworthy thrust in the year 1994. The demand for separate state attained unanimous acceptance among the political parties as well as general public.  The most significant incident was the Rampur Tiraha firing case on 1st October 1994 which led to public turbulence and finally the division of UP in the year 2000.
Initially, the state was named as “Uttaranchal” when the Central Govt. (BJP) of India and UP state government started a new progression of state recognition in the year 1998 and initiated its preferred name as “Uttaranchal”.  In the year 2006 (August), the Union Cabinet of India agreed the four year old demand of the assembly of Uttaranchal state and the prime members of the Uttarakhand movement to rename the state from “Uttaranchal” to “UTTARAKHAND”.  And finally, in October 2006, legislation was passed by the State Legislative Assembly and Union Cabinet conveyed the bill in the winter session of the Parliament which was passed and signed by the Hon’ble President of India in December 2006.  And the state had become the Uttarakhand state of India.