rajaji national park

Rajaji National Park, Uttarakhand

The Rajaji National Park falls in a region which is shared by 3 districts (Dehradun, Haridwar and Pauri) of Uttarakhandthe year of 1983. The park is spread over a gigantic 820 sq kilometers of land. It is also a major habitat of the Bengal Tiger and the Asian elephant in India. In , three wildlife sanctuaries were merged into one big sanctuary, The Rajaji National Park.  The three sanctuaries were Chilla, Motichur and Rajaji sanctuaries.   The name of the park was being named after Sh. C. Rajgopalachari, famously known as Rajaji, a famous freedom struggle leader. Rajaji was the second and the last Governer General of India after its independence.